Adelaide Wind Orchestra has many facets to our overall mission.

We exist to provide the wind instrumentalists of Adelaide the opportunity to collaborate with other like-minded musicians in an exciting new venture to reinvigorate its classical orchestral scene. We will aim to perform compositions written specifically for wind orchestra, to give this genre the exposure it deserves. Finally, we will be seeking to perform regularly, usually in the form of a formal evening concert, at the highest possible standard for public enjoyment. In order to achieve these goals, we have brought together some of the best musicians comprising from current and past Elder Conservatorium students and community musicians, and we have incorporated under a constitution which clearly identifies and supports these goals.


2016 spans the whole spectrum of repertoire available to the modern wind ensemble, from the first true masterwork for small wind ensemble Gran Partita to the World, Australian, and Adelaide Premieres of a number of works written in the last five years. The year begins with the epic showmanship of David Polain, returning for AWO Plays John Williams!, who we are delighted to vnvite back once again. Bryan Griffiths joins us for a concert of entirely Australian Stories by Australians, and we present a program of magical Fables in musical form to delight everybody's inner child.

Since Percy Grainger, there has not been a great deal of love for the wind ensemble outside of the military band setting in Australia... until now. One such example of that upsurge in activity is the establishment of world-renowned wind ensemble conductor, Dr. John Lynch in the Sydney Conservatorium of Music - who has quickly moved to commission and champion new Australian works whilst training a new generation of wind conductors. We are delighted to have him conduct us at the tail-end of our 2016 season in a concert that really embodies what our whole season is about - our ambitions for the modern wind ensemble to be taken seriously as a medium for expression in contemporary art music.



  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

P: 0408945025

Please visit our Sponsors, and Friends, listed below: